Ramp Corporate Card Review 2026: What the Free Tier Actually Includes
By GlobeCreditCards Editorial · Written with AI assistance.
Disclosure: This article may contain affiliate links. If you click and make a purchase, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. See our full disclosure.
The short answer: Ramp is a corporate card and spend-management platform whose Free plan costs $0 per user and includes unlimited cards, expense automation, bill pay and QuickBooks Online or Xero integration. The card needs no personal guarantee — the limit is set on the company's revenue or money raised — and is a charge card paid back in 30 days, not revolving credit. Plus costs $15 per user a month plus an undisclosed platform fee, and local-currency issuing in 30+ countries sits in the custom-priced Enterprise tier. It suits a company with a spend-control problem in one main currency; it does not suit anyone who needs to carry a balance.
Most corporate card platforms sell you the card and give away the software. Ramp does the opposite: the cards are unlimited and free, and the money comes from the transactions running across them. That single design decision explains almost everything about how its pricing is shaped, and it is worth understanding before you compare it to anything else on this site.
What the free plan actually includes
This is the part that surprises people, and it holds up. As published on Ramp's own pricing page on 30 August 2026, the Free plan is listed at "$0/mo/user" and it is not a demo tier.
It includes "Unlimited cards" with "Card issuing controls", travel and expense with "Complete expenses via SMS or Slack", "Auto-receipt collection and matching" and a custom travel policy. Accounts payable is there too — "Automated invoice extraction (OCR)", "Configurable approval workflows", "Automated fraud checks" and the ability to "Pay bills by ACH, card, check, wire, and more". Accounting runs through "QuickBooks Online and Xero integrations".
Compare that to how this category normally prices. Card issuance is usually the billable unit, which is why teams that want one card per vendor hit per-card fees almost immediately — the constraint our Wallester Business review works through in detail, where 300 free virtual cards counts as an unusually generous allowance. Ramp does not meter cards at all on any tier.
The tiers above it:
| Plan | Price | Billing | Aimed at |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0.00 /mo/user | — | "smaller teams who want to simplify finances" |
| Plus | $15.00 /mo/user + platform fee | "Save 20% with annual billing" | teams wanting AI-driven automation |
| Enterprise | Custom | "Annual billing" | "teams who need full customization" |
All figures read from the pricing page on 30 August 2026.
The card itself: who issues it, and who is liable
Ramp's corporate cards page, read 16 October 2026, states "There's no personal credit checks or personal guarantee" and "Credit limit based on financial factors such as revenue or dollars raised", and describes a "Corporate charge card with 30-day payback". The issuing bank depends on where the company is:
| Where | Issuer, as stated by Ramp |
|---|---|
| United States | Celtic Bank (Ramp Visa Corporate Card), subject to credit approval |
| US corporations operating globally | Column N.A., Member FDIC |
| Canada | Peoples Trust Company (Ramp Visa Business Cards) |
| United Kingdom | Stripe Payments UK Limited |
| EEA | Stripe Technology Europe Limited |
Source: Ramp corporate cards. Which plan tier a non-US company can join is not stated on the pricing page, so confirm it in Ramp's application flow.
The practical consequence of a company-liable charge card: the founder's personal credit is not on the line, but the balance has to be paid in full within the payback period. That makes it a control tool, not a source of working capital — the difference our guide to company card models sets out.
The number that is not on the page
Here is the figure to get in writing before you plan a budget: Plus is listed as "$15/mo/user + Platform fee based on team size", and the platform fee is never quantified. No range, no worked example, no "from" figure.
That is not a criticism of the product — usage-based platform fees are normal in this category — but it does mean the headline $15 is not the price. A twenty-person team could reasonably read "$15/mo/user" as $300 a month and be wrong by an amount nobody outside a sales call can calculate. The arithmetic you can do: on annual billing, "Save 20%" makes the per-user part 20 × $15 × 12 × 0.8 = $2,880 a year for twenty people — and the platform fee comes on top. The pricing page, re-read on 16 October 2026, still gives no figure for it. Ask for the platform fee as a line item, for your actual headcount, before you compare Plus to a competitor's flat rate.
The same applies to Treasury. Ramp's page advertises "Earn -.--%" in a Ramp Investment Account and "Earn -.--%" on cash in an FDIC-insured account. Those dashes are the literal characters served in the page — the rates are filled in after the page loads. We are not going to invent a number to fill the gap, and you should treat any review that quotes one without naming its source with the same suspicion.
The limitation that decides whether this is for you
Ramp pays us more than any other partner on this site if you sign up. That is exactly why this section goes here rather than at the bottom.
Everything about operating outside a single domestic currency sits in the Enterprise tier, which is priced "Custom". Specifically, the pricing page lists "Local currency card issuing in 30+ countries", "Locally funded reimbursements" and "Pay card payments in local currency" as Enterprise features — not Free, not Plus.
What the page does not say anywhere is which countries can open a Free or Plus account in the first place. We are not going to fill that in from assumption. Check it in Ramp's own application flow before you build a plan around it.
The practical reading: if your business banks and spends in one currency and you want spend control and expense automation, the free tier is a genuinely strong offer. If your problem is that money arrives and leaves in several currencies, the feature that solves it is behind a "Contact sales" button, and you should be reading this next to Airwallex and the multi-currency comparison rather than instead of them.
Who this genuinely fits
- A team drowning in receipts. Auto-receipt collection and matching, plus completing an expense over SMS or Slack, removes the monthly ritual rather than digitising it. This is the strongest argument for Ramp and it costs nothing to test.
- Companies that want a card per vendor. Unlimited cards with issuing controls means you can give every subscription its own card and its own ceiling. A price rise then fails visibly instead of renewing silently.
- Finance teams on QuickBooks Online or Xero. Both integrate on the free tier. NetSuite and Sage Intacct are listed under Plus, so check which side of that line your ledger sits on before you assume.
- Anyone paying for expense software today. If you are on a per-seat expense tool and your accounting stack is supported, the free tier is a direct like-for-like replacement, and the switching cost is the only real question.
Who should not use it
- Anyone who needs to carry a balance. This is a spend platform, not revolving credit. If the requirement is to spend before you are paid, this is the wrong product category entirely.
- Businesses spending across several currencies on the lower tiers. The local-currency features are Enterprise-only, by Ramp's own pricing page. A multi-currency account underneath the cards is the structure that actually fixes this — see how to get paid in multiple currencies.
- Anyone who cannot get the Plus platform fee quoted. If you need the AI-driven approvals and auto-coded line items, insist on the total number for your headcount. An unquantified variable is not a price.
- Very small teams that do not have a control problem. Free costs nothing, but implementing a spend platform costs attention. Two people with one card do not have the problem this solves.
What to check before you commit
Which accounting integration you need. QuickBooks Online and Xero are on Free. NetSuite, Sage Intacct and "more integrations" are listed under Plus, and Workday and Oracle Fusion Cloud under Enterprise. That ladder, not the card features, is what usually decides which tier a finance team actually lands on.
Whether procurement is in scope. The page lists Procurement — advanced intake and approval workflows, AI-driven vendor compliance reviews, automated PO creation, three-way match — explicitly as an "(Add-on to Plus or Enterprise)". It is not part of Plus by default, and reading it as included is an easy and expensive mistake.
Where your spend physically happens. Come back to the currency question honestly. If a meaningful share of card spend settles in a currency other than the one you bank in, the tier that handles it well is the custom-priced one, and the sensible arrangement is Ramp for control alongside a low-markup account for the currency itself.
The verdict
Ramp's free tier is the most complete thing in this category that costs nothing, and for a single-currency business with a receipts problem it is difficult to argue against trying it — there is no subscription to justify and no card allowance to run out of.
The honest caveat is not about quality. It is that the features which matter to an international business are the ones Ramp reserves for a tier it will not price publicly, and no amount of free card issuance changes that. Read Ramp as a domestic spend-control platform that happens to be free, decide the currency question separately, and you will not be surprised by either.
Recommended for this guide:
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Ramp require a personal guarantee?
No, by its own terms. Ramp's corporate cards page, read on 16 October 2026, states 'There's no personal credit checks or personal guarantee' and that the credit limit is based on 'financial factors such as revenue or dollars raised'. The US card is a Visa corporate charge card with 30-day payback, issued by Celtic Bank and subject to credit approval — so the company's own numbers decide whether it is approved.
How much does Ramp Plus cost for a team of 20?
At least $300 a month before the platform fee: Ramp lists Plus at $15 per user per month plus a 'platform fee based on team size', with 'Save 20% with annual billing'. Billed annually that is 20 × $15 × 12 × 0.8 = $2,880 a year plus the platform fee, which the pricing page does not quantify. The Free plan is $0 per user.
Is Ramp really free?
The Free plan is listed at "$0/mo/user" on Ramp's pricing page, read 30 August 2026, and it is not a stripped tier — it includes unlimited corporate cards, card issuing controls, travel and expense, accounts payable with automated invoice extraction, and QuickBooks Online and Xero integrations. Ramp earns on interchange rather than on a subscription, which is why the free tier can be this complete.
What does Ramp Plus cost?
Plus is listed at "$15/mo/user + Platform fee based on team size", with "Save 20% with annual billing". The per-user figure is published; the platform fee is not — it varies with team size and the page gives no range. Get that number in writing before you compare Plus against anything.
Can I use Ramp outside the United States?
Ramp's pricing page places "Local currency card issuing in 30+ countries", "Locally funded reimbursements" and "Pay card payments in local currency" under the Enterprise tier, which is priced "Custom". The page does not state country eligibility for the Free or Plus tiers at all, so we are not going to state it for them — check it in Ramp's own application flow before you plan around it.
Is Ramp a credit card or a charge card?
Ramp is a corporate spend platform built around cards you control and settle, not a revolving consumer credit product. If what you need is to carry a balance month to month, this is the wrong category of product and the comparison you want is a business credit line.
What interest does the Ramp Treasury account pay?
We are not quoting one. Both yield figures on Ramp's pricing page render as the literal placeholder "-.--%" in the page source — they are filled in after load, so the published page states no rate. Read the current figure inside the product or from Ramp directly; any number you see quoted in a review that does not say where it came from is worth distrusting.

